All parents are doing their best to ensure that their children get the best education while the kids, on the other hand, feel like they don’t even need formal school education because of the strict laws that are involved. Education laws have to be implemented in order to ensure and maintain the quality of education in any part of the world. In this article, we’ll at the various education laws that are mandatory for students in Alachua County.
As a resident of the Alachua country or the State of Florida in general, it is required by every child that reaches a specific age to attain formal education, it can be a private school, public school, homeschooling or any other means of acquiring formal education. It’s required by the Florida law for every child that’s between the age of six and sixteen to attend school, this is compulsory for every child or the parent will face criminal charges.
Here Are Some Statutes That Govern Florida Education Laws;
- All children that are within the age of six and sixteen years must enroll in school
- If there is any student that’s not capable of attending school due to disability, a certificate of the exception must be obtained from the district school superintendent.
- Each child should be provided with homeschool provisions, each child’s education should be evaluated annually, must maintain records and materials.
Failure to enroll a child in formal education within the specified age will lead to penalties; failing to enroll your child in formal education will cause the parent or guardian to be charged with a second-degree misdemeanor. It is very important to enroll every child in formal education because it helps sharpen the brain of the child, puts a check on bad behavior and gives them the best opportunities as an adult to attain a good career. Every parent or guardian is advised to educate their child whether it’s in public school, public school or even private coaching at home.
It’s mandatory for parents to enroll their children in the normal schooling standard, but still, there are a few exceptions where the law isn’t mandatory like where religious beliefs are of concern. Provided the parents can meet the standards of accredited schools for both public and private school standard, you’ll be granted to enroll your child with the form of education you wish to give him.
If the child is within the compulsory schooling age he can obtain a work permit that allows the child to work outside of school hours, it’s important for parent to obtain such permit, most parents allow their children to work without such a permit and at the end it can lead to prosecution especially if the child gets into dispute with an employer, the child will be considered to be unqualified to work in the first place and you as a parent or guardian will get into trouble.
If a child reaches the age of 16 and hasn’t graduated yet, there is the need to file a formal declaration so that the child, signed by the parent or guardian, of intent to terminate school enrollment with the district school board, The most important point to note is that every child should be schooled within the age of 6 and 16 years. A child who attains the age of 18 years is not subject to compulsory school attendance.
Punishments In Florida Public Schools
Dealing with kids can a be a complex process and that’s why proper disciplinary actions have to implemented in schools so as to deal with bad misconducts in schools. Some punishments are allowed in schools such as paddling, spanking or any physical discipline that won’t really hurt the child. Other states have already terminated any form of corporal punishment, but in Florida, they’re still allowed to, but it has to be with the consent of the parent or guardian and it has to be done with the supervision of an adult person.
Even though corporal punishments are allowed, there are certain rules that must be followed before punishing any child;
- Each corporal punishment must be used with prescribed procedures.
- The principal must be informed and has given his consent to any punishment procedure.
- Presence of an adult is required before punishing any child.
- Parents must be informed about the situation.
Education laws can somewhat be difficult to deal with more especially when it comes to handling state statutes. If you live in Alachua County or the State of Florida state and would like to get advice on educational matters you can contact us at Massey & Duffy for proper guidance.